Tags

,

As I take my study break and de-stress a bit by going for a long walk, I started to think how nice it’d be to be doing this with someone.  It was a beautiful warm and sunny day for a Cape Town winter and the walk was scenic with the mountain on one side and the sea on the other but suddenly thought to myself, with all this feminism, independent woman and girl power going on, am I wrong in wishing it’d be better if I had someone to share it with?  Was I wrong in wanting to be looked after and supported by a man?  Does it make me an anachronism for thinking that women need the support and love of men?  I would argue not.

No matter how powerful or successful a woman you are, we are all looking for that protection.  I think it’s in our DNA as women, to be nurturing and also to want that male figure that you can turn to for support.  Case and point, I came across an interview with Lily Allen in Grazia Magazine where she admitted to being hopelessly in love with her builder boyfriend.  In the interview, she said “He’s told me he’ll look after me forever, that’s what I’ve always wanted, someone to look after me.”  We aren’t really all that difficult to figure out because essentially, that’s all women want – to be looked after.  We may be studying towards our MBA’s and getting the perfect careers and be financially secure but when it comes to the end of the day, we all want to go home to someone and not an empty apartment.  I know that I want someone who’ll take all the stress away and tell me that everything will be fine.  Women fall in love with their ears and I guess that’s what we want.  We all want a man to tell us that they’ll be there for us no matter what.  Deep down we’re all looking for that hero to come sweep us off our feet (no wonder all those Twilight movies are doing so well).

She goes on to say: “I’ve been with guys and seen them looking in the mirror before they walk out of the door with me. That makes me feel sick because I know it’s not just me they’re interested in.  They’re more into themselves.”

And to round it off, I think she put it well when she said, “It’s not about being famous, it’s not about all the parties, it’s not about wanting to be the biggest pop star on the planet. It’s about being happy. For me, that is Sam, spending time at home, sorting out bed linen… being normal.”

It’s about going back to basics…

