Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“It’s about that anonymous fear thing, sitting in traffic, thinking, ‘I’m sure I’m supposed to be doing something else” – Thom Yorke.

And that’s how I was feeling this morning as I was sitting indoors trying to get my valuation model to work on a warm and sunny day in Cape Town.  What was the whole point of this – so that I could go back and work in a bank and do this all over again?

It’s about the 10-10-10 principle.  What’s it going to matter to me in 10 days, 10 months, 10 years?  Maybe all of this is the small stuff… Surely there must be more to life than just spreadsheets and numbers…

City Palace, Udaipur - November 2008

Darjeeling - December 2008

Rome - May 2008

Jaisalmer - December 2008

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan - December 2008

Montserrat, Spain - April 2008

Montserrat, Spain - April 2008

It’s just a matter of changing your perspective and you soon realise how insignificant some of the things we worry about are – and it is all the small stuff.

I felt like I was meant to be doing something else other than playing in Excel, trying to get the perfect share valuation and I was getting so bogged down in it so… I went out for a jog instead to clear my head.

I guess the exercise and fresh air did me good because I managed to get it soon after I got back and things were so much simpler.

You realise some things are insignificant in the greater scheme of things and you’re able to see the bigger picture or as in the case above, realise that problems may not actually be as big and complicated as you think they were.

