Tags

, , , , , , , ,

4 March 2011

Our party of six left for Madrid early on Friday morning and arrived in the capital at 11am.  Needless to say, it wasn’t the best weather for a tour of the city since it started to pour with rain as soon as we had reached our hotel.  Looking for something to do away from the rain, we decided to go visit the Reina Sofia museum, which was the closest one to where we were staying.  There I discovered that I have a strong inclination towards the works of Joan Mirò since most of the paintings that caught my eye were by this Catalan artist.  However my friends mocked me because all his paintings are very childlike and colourful.  I’m no art critic but I thought they were pretty interesting nonetheless.  There were also several sketches by Picasso which I thought my father could have very well have done himself (mind you, he can’t draw a box even if he tried).  Unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to see the Prado museum which was highly recommended by my friend from Madrid as he said it was the best one in the city.  After a cultural visit to the museum, the rain had died down as well and we decided to warm ourselves up with some churros and hot chocolate, something that Madrid is well known for.  It was just what we needed after a cold and wet day out in the city.

So this is one of the Joan Mirò paintings.  I think it spoke to the child in me because it’s so colourful.

Another Joan Mirò and yes… this one is a bit too abstract but I still love how simple it is.

This is the famous La Guernica painting by Picasso that depicts the bombing of Guernica during the Spanish Civil War in 1937.

And this is one of my favourite paintings by Salvador Dali, Woman at the window.

