Tags

, , , , ,

Breakfast at El Fornet – the perfect way to start the morning.

My last days in Barcelona were spent walking the streets and having breakfasts at the corner cafes.  The El Fornet in Sant Gervasi soon became my pit stop either to or from school.  A morning coffee and a selection of the various pastries they have displayed in the cabinet was surely the best way to start off my day before heading out into the city and taking in the sights, sounds and tastes this beautiful city had to offer.  Now, as I sit at Vida Cafe in Johannesburg, my time in Barcelona seemed like a dream.  It came and went all too quickly.  But this is also a chance for me to rediscover Johannesburg and what it has to offer before I head out again in a month’s time.  But for now, there are a number of things I wish I could do again.  I miss the small and narrow streets, the cafeterias on every street corner, the running track on the Carreterra de les Aigues, the beaches, the tapas, the people and the beauty of the buildings and of course, my favourite place in the city, Park Guell.

A rest area on the Carreterra de les Aigues – the best running track so far.

The walk up to the running track.

Is this not one of the best views of the city?  Everyday I would walk past this restaurant, right by the Funicular stop to Tibidabo on my way to the running track and think, oh next time I must stop by for a cup of coffee or lunch.  Finally on my second last day, I went in and did just that.  The views from this restaurant are amazing.

And this is the Mirablau restaurant.  Adios Barcelona y hasta proxima vez!

