Tags

, ,

People lining up to get supplies at Westside Market on Broadway and 111th.

Sure, it may be the city that never sleeps but not this weekend.  I guess Irene is coming to town and people are getting ready for it.  At Westside Market, scores of people have been lining up since this morning trying to get some last minute supplies of food and water.  The MTA has been shut down as of 12 noon today and yes, it seems as though the city is getting ready to brace itself for the impending hurricane.  This should be interesting.  So far, I’ve experienced sunny skies, rain and now a storm, all this in the space of 3 days.  I’m hoping my flight out on Monday morning doesn’t get moved although it’s starting to seem more and more likely that it just might be delayed.  I guess I might be in this city a little longer than expected…

Morning walk down to Riverside Park before the hurricane hits.

Jogging route for the morning

Started to rain but no wind just yet...

And more rain...

